Poets logo

True Nature

People are not always what we see

By Tina RosePublished 10 days ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
True Nature
Photo by Greyson Joralemon on Unsplash

Crossing over my lines like you're drunk at the wheel

Careless to anyone else, how they feel

How they act, how they bleed

Because you always have to be the lead

Your charm can bring a hermit out of it's hole

so perfectly you play your role

Of the nice one, the good guy with a heart of gold

But that heart was bought off Temu and the paint chips as it gets old

What's underneath is rancid and bitter

all dolled up in that fancy glitter

you parade it out for the world to see

but if someone gets close like me

It shows it's true nature, all prickly and black

yelling, lying, and beating me down for the things that you lack

Because I am an easy target when I choose to stay

You drown me with words of love and worship and immediately I obey

You override my rationale with that gaslighting web you weave

pulling me back in with a thread just as I get the courage to leave

But all this should be written in the past

because I am free of your tendrils at last

My mind and heart are on a healing path

Don't know how long it will take, there is no math

for this sort of thing, but down the road I have started

Every tie to you I have shredded and parted

They call me the Villain and with that I am fine

I only pity them, still stuck on your vine,

primed to be plucked and smashed in the finest wine

Because you "only deserve the best"

And while they scramble for air I will sit here and rest

I did my time, and found my way out

And for all the peace I am gaining,

let them think I did it for clout

I know my true nature

And I know yours

And now I know to avoid trick doors

Mental Healthsocial commentaryinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Tina Rose

Life Long writer, Reader, tea lover, and Self care advocate.

Just trying to bring a little light and joy into this world.

My Instagram: @tina_rose91.

Follow for my bookish and selfcare posts.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout 2 hours ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Darkos6 days ago

    Beautifully written 🩷😊I can so relate to such charming ones and their gaslighting smog around that not many can spot Congratulations to You for Top story ! 🌷It's so healing to read Your poem !

  • CHRISTIAN P7 days ago

    Love ur poem Tina

  • CHRISTIAN P7 days ago

    Fine work Tina πŸ«‚

  • ROCK 7 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Newly subscribed!

  • Christy Munson8 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! πŸ₯³

  • TahimaAni9 days ago

    Excellent

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Very telling emotional poem, deserving of TS! Congratulations, nice job.πŸŽ‰

  • Kendall Defoe 9 days ago

    Excellent! πŸ…πŸ˜Ž

  • shanmuga priya9 days ago

    Congratulations πŸŽ‰

  • Sweileh 88810 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more now

Tina RoseWritten by Tina Rose

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.