Poets logo

How do I explain this to the kids?

Lost at sea poetry

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My sweet husband’s not home;

Found him on the street

With panties in his hand!

How do I explain this to the kids?

Where did all go wrong?

When we were young,

He took me round the world…

Made love in every ocean,

And kissed me on every sunset.

How do I explain this to the he kids?

The Casanova inside has died.

It’s a lucky day for me

If if we’re in the same room

But I just can’t not foresee

There’s a chilling doom.

How do I explain this to the kids?

Our marriage is going to the grave.

It’s happened again:

The sheets are cold.

I’m washing the house

With my own tears

How do I explain this to the kids?

As their father’s gone drinking ale.

Went out for some fresh air

Bumped into my sweet husband

With bloomers in his hand,

And petticoats stuck to his boots.

How do I explain this to the kids?

He slept at the brothel’s again.

The nightmare has come

As I watch on the docks

My husband returns to his sailing destiny

How do I explain this to the kids?

Their father supports piracy.

I sulked in the lighthouse.

The boat sailed away.

Then down came the thunder

The waves raised up and

Swallowed the ship leaving planks everywhere!

How do I explain this to the kids?

The ship of fools were a crew of bones!

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.