Poets logo

Hotcomb, Hotcomb Stay Far Far away...

~AKA 'Bad Hair Revolution 2' poem~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
39

πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–

Sizzle, pop, crackle, fry...

Sizzle, pop, crackle, fry...

Uncrinkle, iron out, and flatten those kink-filled curls, black girls...

Uncrinkle, iron out, and flatten those kink-filled curls, black girls...

πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–

Truthfully, your hair was gorgeous from the start, but that's not what we've been taught...

The longer and straighter the hair, the better...

No, let me correct that "The Gooder"...

But honestly, what is "Gooder" than what God gave us?...

We were graciously gifted puffy ringlets & tightly-coiled kinks...

to guard our precious crowns...

like the powerful and dutiful bodyguards whose job it is to protect Hollywood celebs in minks...

πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–πŸŽ–

Therefore, Hot-comb, Hot-comb, stay far far away, unless you simply came to play for the day...

Because I simply don't wish to be indoctrinated with your self-hatred today...

***

Hi All I'm still breaking... but I wanted to slide through and say Hello! Here is my previous poem on the subject of afro-textured hair for anyone who may be interested:

Thx! Have a Blessed Week!

❀

Tiffa G

Β 

Mental Healthsocial commentary
39

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 16 days ago

    I love that you reprised this, as a girl with very curly hair and having watched the Princess Dairies where she only became pretty when they straightened her hair, I relate to this a lot

  • The Dani Writer18 days ago

    I am a Natural Hair Kween and I approve of this message 😊

  • Grz Colm22 days ago

    I was hoping I may have missed a few from you, but see you have been quiet too. Hope you are going well though! 😊

  • RL Stevenson2 months ago

    Loved this! You rocked for all of US, and those who have tried to define themselves by performative beingness and being "Othered". I enjoyed reading this!!

  • Teresa Renton2 months ago

    You go girl! I love that you used poetry to get this message across. Before straighteners were around, my friend used to IRON her hair. I always wished she didn’t 😞

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    So cool! 😎 Thank you!❀️

  • Doc Sherwood2 months ago

    There was a Riverdale convention when the three actresses who played Josie and the Pussycats received a huge cheer from the crowd when they mentioned how happy they were to have worn their natural hair for the role. This in turn reminded me of a generation before, when my grandmother would exclaim over how wrong Beyonce looked with her straight red hair! Your superb poem truly engages with this pressing need to reclaim a lost identity, and reminds us there's still an ongoing struggle to do so. The topic informs related issues too, because in China I've never much liked my female students' tendency to dye their hair, and in addition there's a cosmetic surgery culture which verges on the terrifying. The world needs more poems like yours, Tiffany!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  • ImperfectlyPerfect3 months ago

    I love this so much πŸ’—πŸ’—

  • Dana Stewart3 months ago

    This is so fresh, the rhyme and the reason for a very important topic. You knocked this one outta the park!

  • C. H. Richard3 months ago

    Powerful❀️ This was so well stated my friend! All hair is beautiful❀️

  • Sara Wilson3 months ago

    I think ALL hair is beautiful! I used to leave mine wild as a young girl, and the amount of crap I got for it. I have natural waves, Even some curls. Leaving it 'natural', a lot of people made fun of me. "Don't you EVER do anything with your hair?" "Looks like a rats nest." etc etc. I was also made fun of for this natural blonde streak I have in my hair, upon research, it's called a mallen streak. It's considered 'bad luck' lol. I got insecure for awhile and started constantly straightening it.. and dying it every color to cover up the blonde- Eventually I just decided to go natural again (mostly anyways- some times I straighten or curl it- but haven't dyed it in 7 years.) I think it's important for ALL girls to embrace their natural hair because it is ALL beautiful. I have never dealt with sew in weaves etc, but I have watched America's Next Top Model and seen the struggle placed on women to have "better" hair and it isn't fair OR better. I don't know who decided there was only one look to define beauty.. but they were wrong. I hope in the years to come, people are encouraged more to be themselves and not have ridiculous ideas of beauty placed on them. God doesn't make mistakes <3

  • Fun words with frizzy hair great words

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    YES! I have very frizzy hair, and I dont straighten it, I do tame it with leave in conditioners though. But my kids love it when I brush it out and walk around with a giant cloud around me.

  • Antoinette L Brey3 months ago

    Interesting when I was younger I had frizzy curly hair/. I remember all morning efforts to straighten it, And when I got older they had flat irons. It is hard sometimes to love what god gave me

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    This is wonderful! As a mother to a grown woman now, what we went through with hair was so much drama. I love every curl on her head.

  • I love this Tiffany!!! I love how you defend your God given beauty!

  • Jess Boyes3 months ago

    I really enjoyed this πŸ™‚

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Creative, fun and good message Tiffany! β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Very nice!

  • Sandra Tena Cole3 months ago

    This was amazing!! ❣️ x

  • Veronica Coldiron3 months ago

    Just awesome! I had a bad hair morning and was just thinking this morning about what my sister went through with her hair when we were kids. Then I saw your post. My sister's hair was long, but VERY tightly curled, and mom used to make her put her arms around her waist and then just pull and snatch through the tangles, and then straighten it. I thought my sister's regular hair was prettier and personally would have done anything to have curly hair like hers. Reading this, makes me recognize that we all have our struggles. I don't think we have to change a hair on our heads to be beautiful and your lovely poem is WONDERFUL!!

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Sensational Poetry, Tiffany. ❀️❀️❀️πŸ₯° I will be honest, I flat iron my hair cause it’s easy to manage than when it’s curly. I know I look gorgeous both ways, lol 😘πŸ₯°. The worst I seen is when it’s done to a baby. The baby was so very cute but the mom was something else. She even put a baby wig on the baby. Till this day that baby will be unforgettable to me.

  • Great poem whimsical and fun sorry about having to deal with the hotcomb

  • Not me thinking they were all different kinda dildos although your title said hotcomb 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 I'm sorry Tiffy, I don't know why I'm like this hahahahaha! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.