Poets logo

A Scrumptious Lie...

~~Performance Poetry~~

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
62
A Scrumptious Lie...
Photo by Diliara Garifullina on Unsplash

Folks are hungry for truth... May I tell you a secret?

I have an increasingly-extinct superpower... I'm allergic to lies...

The bigger the lie, the sicker I get... Even white ones make me itch...

Sadly, many have embraced deceit and candy-coated lies by accepting a poisonous slice of the Devil's pie... Mmmm... what a scrumptious soul tie!

They hastily and heartily gobble it all down....Willingly taking directions from a selfish clown...

But there's money to be made... no time to live, right... They're more focused on living it up with all of their might...

Eventually, Karma's mama, named: 'Miss You Reap What You Sow', will inevitably knock on every 'Little Bad Wolf's' door...

And then Integrity, Righteousness, and Good will rule once more.

***Hi All: I am technically still on a Vocal writing break. I just felt an urgent need to release this message... Have a gorgeous 2024 Everyone!!!!🎉

Love, Tiffa G.

 

performance poetry
62

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain14 days ago

    Congratulations on the TS! Once again sorry for the oh so late reciprocal read. As mentioned I have been unwell. I enjoyed your ‘increasingly-extinct superpower!’ I read of you official break. Take good care of yourself Pauline 🌸

  • Bozhan Bozhkov2 months ago

    Hi Tiffany, I not only like your poem. It inspired my to write my new article and also had enlightened to "solve" a problem that I have been thinking about for a long time! So thank you!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Tiffany! This is wonderful! I especially love your vibrant choice of words throughout, especially Karma's mama, Miss Reap What You Sow.

  • Ken_kudu3 months ago

    Love your content 🔥❤️ Let's engage with each other's content

  • Gina C.3 months ago

    Awesome poem, Tiffany! I, too, am allergic to liers! I felt this. I love your metaphors in here: "soul tie" was such a great way to describe lies! Congrats on Top Story!! 🤗❤️ Well-deserved!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I read this right you when you released, so good!! Some very sage words heaped up on that tasty-looking plate. If only things always 'tasted' the way they looked. A wonderful way to dish up this message :) Congrats on top story!

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    I am grateful you slipped and chose to share this delicacy with us; TrUtH is this is meaty, full of some of life's most important lessons all wrapped up in one sweet delivery.

  • Nicole Gibson3 months ago

    Great poem.

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    I know that’s right 👏

  • Jess Boyes3 months ago

    Liars! Pffft, but they will get their karma in the end. Loved this and congratulations for the Top Story. Very well deserved!

  • Antoinette L Brey3 months ago

    Wow definitely deserved top story

  • Loved this. So creative and I wish we were all a little more allergic to lies because they seem to be everywhere these days.

  • PK Colleran3 months ago

    I'm allergic, too. Great Top Story. Congratulations, Tiffany 💕

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    What a great message Tiff. Congrats on your top story. Well deserved.

  • M. A. Mehan 3 months ago

    Love this! It made me think of my brother, a sweet soul who's also highly allergic to lies. If we could all have a little more intolerance for fibs the world would be a better place!

  • Yokopi3 months ago

    So Amazing! contrasts

  • Test3 months ago

    Excellent effort! Keep up the superb work—congrats!s

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Well. this was powerful and wrapped up in your delicious wordsmithery and that picture is making me hungry...though not for lies! Well said and glad you had to take a break from your break to share this gem. Congrats on a richly deserved Top Story!

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    Sometimes you just have to get it out there.

  • Akbar Ali3 months ago

    nice good job

  • Yayyyyy Tiffy, congratulations on your Top Story! And thank you so much for this message! I hate lies and I too wish I was allergic to lies or maybe had a built-in lie detector, lol! Loved your poem!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    I'm hungry!

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    I love the connection you made between allergies and lies- so unique! Nicely done

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Interesting to see a physical reaction to lies, such as getting sick. Great message Tiff

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.