Poets logo

HOME

The Embrace of Your Family

By Margaret FloodPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
Photo by krakenimages on unsplash

It happens – three or more times a year

Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Xmas and more

We all come together for laughter and hugs

Music and singing and food galore

For the love of your family is what it’s all for

The call goes out and I gladly responded

For being the youngest I had nothing to ponder;

Just bring a plate and walk in the door

To enjoy the good times was no chore

For the love of your family is what it’s all for

My two sisters had the charm

And knew just how to be so calm

Organisation was their key

Perfecting the day to a tee

For the love of your family is what it’s all for

Oh how the tables have turned, I am now the one to learn

A calm mind and a steady heart

Was organizations other part

The secret keys to perfect things to a tee

But the love of your family is what it’s all for

The occasion rolls around and the task is all mine

Endless lists I have been told will save much time

Shopping and cleaning, cooking and more

I fret and I stress and hope I’ve done all

But the love of your family is what it’s all for

The family arrives all carefree and joyful

While I’m in a state that is just so awful

The stress has built up and I’m in a meltdown

For my careful planning has quite fallen down

But the love of your family is what it’s all for

I pull myself together with a steadying breath

Put a smile on my face as I observe my mess

The food’s on the table and everyone’s happy

No one cares that things look a bit crappy

For the love of your family is what it’s all for

Glasses are raised and toasts are all done

For nothing else matters when all's said and done

And the look on their faces just fills my heart

Erasing the stress knowing I’ve done my part

For the love of your family is what it’s all for

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Margaret Flood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.