Poets logo

Home Is On The Road

A Note on Wanderlust

By Meggen Olson Published 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Home Is On The Road
Photo by Matthew Huang on Unsplash

Wanderlust is a thing for me.

And it's a thing that consumes me

So much of the time

Love, I’m a nomad. A wanderer

Never settling for long

Never getting too close

Because that would make

The leaving all too painful

I would take you with me

But your roots have dug into the soil beneath your feet

And I would destroy you too easily

If I pulled you away from the life force you've entwined yourself with

So I’ll leave in the night if only to avoid your tears. I know they would tear my apart just seeing them drop from your eyes...

And should I come back around at some later time,

I hope you’ll forgive me.

heartbreaklove poems
1

About the Creator

Meggen Olson

Hey guys. My name is Meg. I'm a writer, artist and tarot reading based in SoCal. I love writing and hope to share my work with you in this way. Please enjoy and let me know if you have any feedback for me. I'm happy to help where I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem. I'm the kind that has her roots in too deep.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.