Poets logo

Eyes Wide Open

We Walk the Plank

By Meggen Olson Published 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Eyes Wide Open
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

I: eyes closed, you refuse to see

How the world has changed

And not for the better

I watch as we sail

These oceans of sand

Throwing down our buckets

For that precious liquid life

But we only get sand and bones

We’re fading too

Breaking down as the world around us collapses

Beneath the weight of the polluted air

II: now I watch from a distance

As the world turns dark

This is the aftermath of our destruction and our hatred

The misfits remain as wanderers

And we collect them one by one

As the wasteland of what once was

Rises to meet us

All of us have given up

All of us are wayward

But we’ll soon float away

Because the peaceful dark of oblivion

Will be ours soon enough

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Meggen Olson

Hey guys. My name is Meg. I'm a writer, artist and tarot reading based in SoCal. I love writing and hope to share my work with you in this way. Please enjoy and let me know if you have any feedback for me. I'm happy to help where I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was so tragic and poignant. Loved your poem!

  • Nice piece🧡📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.