Poets logo

His Shirt

a poem of longing

By Nora NovakPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
4
His Shirt
Photo by Luis Quintero on Unsplash

A long and quiet afternoon,

A furtive slip behind a door,

I pull a simple cotton shirt

From the bottom dresser drawer.

--

My flushing cheeks caress it,

And no matter how I try,

As much as I inhale its scent,

I can’t be satisfied.

--

His smell, his voice, his striking air

Wash through my beating breast

Intangible and fleeting,

To this pain I can attest.

--

I slip it on and hug myself,

Recalling his willing touch.

My skin erupts in goose bumps.

The yearning becomes too much.

--

How cruel it is to have such tokens

That arouse and tease the senses,

Rekindling an obsession

To which there are no defenses.

--

In habitude I close my eyes,

Summoning his face.

With each breath, it recedes and fades,

Leaves heartache in its place.

--

The shirt goes back into the drawer.

I smooth it with my palm.

Bittersweet these memories,

An evanescent balm.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Nora Novak

I'm all over the place. But that's my charm, n'est-ce pas?

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer11 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful. I felt every line of this wonderful poignant poem

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Love the theme and topic of this. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Beautifully written piece. Well done.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Moving and sensuous. Great job to relate the senses to emotions. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.