Poets logo

In Name Only

Carelessness Incarnate

By Nora NovakPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
In Name Only
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

To the Ones that made me:

You put a roof over my head,

Lay clothes on my back.

Fed me rice, broth, and meat.

I wasn’t hungry for that.

--

Affection was scant,

Encouragement nil.

All these years later,

I suffer it still.

--

An unplanned arrival,

A nuisance, a bother.

You already had burdens,

Didn’t want another.

--

Unwashed at school,

Raised by TV,

Deprived of connection,

Knew not how to be.

--

Apathy and criticism

Were the most you could dole,

Crushing my spirit,

Wilting my soul.

--

If I dared show my pride,

Feel pleased with my art,

You made sure to kill it

And tear it apart.

--

I asked if you loved me;

You clearly explained:

We don’t love anyone,

Don’t ask again.

--

Desperate for touch,

A child with no tether,

Unable to love,

Damaged forever.

--

Every cell in my body

Vibrated with fear,

Transmuting to rage,

A dark souvenir.

--

Urges to damage,

Hurt, and destroy,

A need to tear down

Those who feel joy.

--

A freak has been made,

Too late to undo,

Misery stalks me.

It will come for you, too.

Signed, Your Monster

surreal poetrysad poetry
5

About the Creator

Nora Novak

I'm all over the place. But that's my charm, n'est-ce pas?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is very sad , great poem of imagery . Brilliant use of words

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    “A dark souvenir” was my favorite line. Powerful, powerful poem. And so spot on for those who did not receive parental affection. Fantastic job. Almost cried.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, I loved this. The ending was so powerful!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I loved this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.