Poets logo

High

Behind the lyrics

By Daniel HyamPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
High artwork

𝐥𝐲𝐫𝐢𝐜𝐬

We have tattoos on our skin, we love them.

A succulent taste.

Our roots grow deep unlike the ink that fades.

Love, oh your lips taste like medicine to me.

You’ve got me high.

So high I’m kicking the leaves.

Suntied. Distance. It’s how we look at each other. don’t let me go. Just lower me down.

You’ve got me feeling so high.

We have tattoos on our skin we love them.

And this tedious page tore down the seams but man we’ll be okay.

Love, oh your lips taste like medicine to me.

You’ve got me high.

So high I’m kicking the leaves.

Suntied. Distance. It’s how we look at each other. don’t let me go. Just lower me down.

You’ve got me feeling so high.

𝐁𝐞𝐡𝐢𝐧𝐝 𝐇𝐢𝐠𝐡

Right. So again another love themed song. I know kids, yuk!

But to continue I have two angles of understanding this song.

Personally at the time I was going through a lot of stuff within myself but I was able to relate it to a relationship and this relationship we all have with ourselves. It’s the ups and downs we go through emotionally. Feeling “high” (see what I did there) and then a bit low another day.

I struggled with this song but found a way to make it work, like a relationship on the rocks. I missed the person I was being on the highs like a partner away from work or school ect.

So this song also truely reeks of a lover missing there other half/how it feels to be in love which I too was experiencing. So why not blend these concepts together and make it confusing? Because these things get that way sometimes.

- Daniel Hyam

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Hyam

Artist/producer

Behind the lyrics & behind the scense

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.