Poets logo

High Tide

Ride the Wave

By Sara WynnPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
High Tide
Photo by Martin Sanchez on Unsplash

Slithering and slicing, moon-face mirroring,

bubbling, inviting secrets, whispering;

tell me: if I follow, how far will you take me?

Backward, there, or forward? To, or from, destiny?

Earth-gathered sky sorrows, what breath here, escaping,

breathes life here, tomorrow, at your end, cascading?

Warbling brook, calling: for whom do you beckon?

Meandering, gnawing at the earth’s mouth, silted.

Sharpened boulders jutting out around your ford like teeth,

riffled swirling cutting mossy emerald green;

will you sweep me away as you have done here, through,

when the clouds tire of rain, and tides rise from sky blue?

Tell me, if I follow, how far will you take me?

Backward, there, or forward? To, or from, destiny?

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetrynature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sara Wynn

Poetry is my language, and Earth is my playground.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.