Poets logo

High School Poet Tree 2

Part 2 of Making Fun of My Teenage Poetry

By Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob BossPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
Lonely Little Poet Tree in the River

Told you there was more. I gathered some of the darkest ones for this post.

A little backstory into the mind that created these poems. I was probably between the ages of 15 and 17. I was going through a lot at home and an outcast at school. Because I was a young hopeless romantic, I let my peers lead my immature love life. Even when I knew it wasn't right I romanticized the hell out of my relationships in my youth.

My friends would help set me up with a boy who liked me and I would play along no matter how much our personalities clashed. I think we can all say that when we were in our teen years a lot of red flags looked green under the haze of hormones. Every person is the right person, when the hormone monster has control.

But hey, we get fun poetry to poke fun at when we get old and wiser.

Once again, enjoy... or don't....

There's more to come.

P.S. A lot of these are not titled, so you will see a lot of "Untitled" in this one.

"Untitled"

This is not about you

This is not about me

It's about faith and love

About the things we don't have

This is not about him

This is not about her

It's about hate and anger

The things you harbor for me

This is not about the future

This is not about the past

It's about the present

The hurt we tried to hide

This is not about us

This is not about love

This is not about cheating

This is not about pain

It's about the best I can do

To keep the hope in me.

*Okay so this one must be about the first time I got cheated on. Even though none of the feelings I had for my past boyfriends could ever reach the strength of the feelings I have for my husband, this was a hurt I had never experienced before. It was also probably one of the first times I had to end a relationship.

With that being said I did change the last word on this poem. It did say you, because even though I was having to be the heart breaker with a broken heart, I wanted to keep hope alive in my ex. Now as a 40 year old woman I need to take that power back. I need to keep the hope alive in myself.

"Meant to be Alone"

I watch them leave

One by one

Where one has ended

Another has begun

My heart soars

As another smiles at me

Only a friendly gesture

I was meant to be unhappy

I fall in love again

Give away my heart and soul

Only to be let down

And life again loses control

The nightmares come back

Sleep goes away

Another walks in

He isn't meant to stay

Why? I cry

And I sit in the night

Everything is black

As I wait for my light

Here you come to me

Please just go home

It will never work out

I am meant to be alone.

*I can definitely remember the reaction of my friends to this one. I was going through a little break up and even though I wasn't really sad about it, I was putting what little emotion I did have on paper. This poem was an entry for the high school magazine we were putting together. I don't think I attended the meeting for the magazine that afternoon and instead went home. I got several phone calls that evening from my concerned friends and I had to explain it really wasn't that deep.

Well let's leave it off on those two for today. I still have more to share. Stay tuned for Part 3.

sad poetrylove poemshumorheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob Boss

I have been a writer since I was able to form sentences. I find passion in writing fiction and positive special interest pieces about extra special people! My love of writing keeps me going, but the love of my children keeps me alive!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.