Poets logo

High School Poet Tree 1

Making Fun of My Really Bad Teenage Poetry

By Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob BossPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
3
The Poet Tree Has Fallen

I have tons of old poems stowed away in my files. The majority of them from my high school days. Some written at the onset of my depression. I have never really shared any of these poems with anyone. So you, whoever you may be, poor unfortunate soul, get the horrible honor of being one of the first.

I will be including a grown up review at the end of each poem. Now that I have survived all that teenage angst, let's see what 40 year old Abby thinks of teenage Abby.

This is part one. Yes there is more. So many more...

Enjoy. >.<

"Angel's Song"

A river of hurt and confusion

A raft made of hatred and fears

My heart screams out for mercy

A slap at the sight of my tears

Broken wings not to be mended

A flight I never take again

A savior who seems to care

Will the torment ever end

Fix my broken wings and heart

Show me the way to true love

Give me the strength again to fly

And send me to the great above

For I am your humble angel

Your savior, your lover, your friend

I will be yours forever more

If you save my lost soul again

* Okay, so I promise I was not abused at home. I actually had a pretty great home life, besides the crap we put up with from my older half sister. (I can tell you that story later if you want.) This was probably, most likely written about a boyfriend. Younger Abby was a hopeless romantic after all. Most writers are, to be completely honest. Poor child spent a lot of her time thinking about the soul mate she hoped to find... in high school (face palm). Whoever this is about obviously didn't get me forever. Let's move on. The next one is probably about the same boy.

"Promises of a Liar"

(This is promising to be drama already!)

Etching distrust in my soul

The promises of a liar

The hurt, the pain, the broken heart

From the promises of a liar

Save me, my love and lift me higher

Into the clouds away from my liar

But dropped once again on broken wings

To feel the sting again

The promises of a liar

*Not the distrust etched on the soul honey! I can remember the inspiration for this one. My first kind of serious boyfriend stood me up for a date to a dance. I found out in school that instead of taking me to my first ever dance, he went to a party with kids his own age (he was older than me, oooohh scandalous). He was really a liar too. Kept it up well into adulthood. Messaged me from a fake Facebook account while married asking if I liked to play games. Only with my hubby. Perv!

"Hypnotized"

(Not going to lie actually had to name this one.)

Under your spell

Is where I find myself to be

Hypnotized

Weave your magic over me

Make me smile

Make me laugh

Make me shiver

Make me gasp

Touch me

I'm yours this time

Take care

For next time you'll be mine

*Okay this one has some major corny greeting card potential. I might even put this in a card to my husband next Valentine's day!

"Rose Petal"

A rose petal falls to the ground, my tears fall with it

They splash on the red silky surface, will I lose you soon

Do you love me as much as you say, can I get close without fear

As my tears make barely a sound, I wonder if I fall back into a black pit

Will my life in your love lose its place, I can't live without my sun and moon

All I want is to be in your arms to stay, will I be able to hold this love so dear

*This one feels unfinished and that's probably because I got disgusted with it. I spent a lot of time in my teens hovering between euphoria and disgust with life. I guess that's a lot of teens, especially those of us who felt the dregs of depression in our early years. The angst is high in this one, the writing is so juvenile. I must have been heart broken by someone, but 25 years later I can't even remember who did it. Eh, such is life.

And that is it for part one. So sorry to subject you to it, but a legacy isn't built on only perfection. Thanks for reading. Stay tuned for more terrible high school poetry.

humor
3

About the Creator

Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob Boss

I have been a writer since I was able to form sentences. I find passion in writing fiction and positive special interest pieces about extra special people! My love of writing keeps me going, but the love of my children keeps me alive!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.