Poets logo

"Hi, My Name Is..."

"...And I Am An Addict"

By McKenzie KeathleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2022
47
"Hi, My Name Is..."
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

I am an addict,

But not in the way you think.

My addiction is touch, physical contact, intimacy.

The rush of dopamine I receive from an accidental brush of a hand is embarrassing.

I am a fiend searching for my next fix in anyone,

Making them my dealer.

I sell pieces of myself in exchange for a few minutes of intimacy,

Real or fake.

My icy fingertips long to feel the burning heat of another’s flesh.

I yearn for the entanglement of limbs, the caressing of noses, the brushing of lips.

My body aches for the security I find in being held.

I crave skin to skin contact like a newborn clinging to a mother’s chest trying to feel safe again.

I’m afraid that no embrace will ever be enough to feed the hunger I possess.

I fear the come down from the high, the loneliness, the self hatred, and withdrawals;

All which occur when I am left alone.

However I am an addict,

But I am in recovery.

I will learn to be content with my own touch and not recoil.

I will learn to love myself enough to embrace myself and receive the same amount of dopamine.

I will caress myself and feel comforted.

I will close my eyes, hold myself, and drift to sleep just as swiftly.

However I am an addict,

And I am craving the touch of another as I write this.

heartbreak
47

About the Creator

McKenzie Keathley

Just an aspiring writer looking to connect with people through my creativity. 💚

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Jim DeLillo2 years ago

    Especially at the end of life. https://vocal.media/poets/hospice-b88kgi024n Your poem is beautifully written and touching ;-)

  • David Parham2 years ago

    Thank you for expressing a need that I would have trouble putting into words for fear of getting tagged as creepy. A touch is worth 1000 words, a touch from the other side of the bed is worth even more. As we get older the addiction doesn't go away we just accept substitutes, the touch of a nurse or caregiver, a hug from a friend, accidently rubbing elbows with the person in the next seat on a crowded plane. As Jim Morrison once sang, "C'mon touch me babe, can't you see that I am not afraid"

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    This really hits home for a lot of people. This also one of my new favorite poems I’ve ever read. Keep writing, your literature will touch many…

  • Lace Cole2 years ago

    love this so much. very relatable.

  • Wow ❤️

  • Waldo2 years ago

    This took a lot of courage. I felt the depth of your addiction in my gut. Good job.

  • Skyln Grace2 years ago

    it's beautiful and it's amazing that you had the courage to put this out there for the world.

  • Jymyaka Braden2 years ago

    Definitely felt this. I was just explaining sex and love addiction to my lover. This could definitely be an SLA Recovery ❤️‍🩹 Manifesto. I like it a lot.

  • I feel like you've read my diary and I love it.

  • Jacobie Jones2 years ago

    Very relatable and well written. Great job

  • Shirley Belk2 years ago

    well done!

  • Natalie Johnson2 years ago

    I felt this in my chest. I love it

  • Chris Ames2 years ago

    Very touching read

  • Jacie Hampton2 years ago

    Love this, very relatable!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Beautifully told. I'm missing someone very much myself. This struck a nerve in a good way. Well done!

  • william u cowser2 years ago

    who hasn't felt like this,at any point in their life. great writing!

  • McKagan Nikki2 years ago

    This made me cry. I feel the same. Thank you for a beautiful rendition of my feelings.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.