Poets logo

Hospice

A bedside farewell

By Jim DeLilloPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A hand

A touch

A knowing look

I sit beside your bed and sigh

Inside you laugh

Inside I cry

Your life is near its end

My friend

My wife

I cannot bear the thought without you

I come and sit to remember

Our life together

Then we part

As I carry you in my heart

One year or sixty

Is simply gone

I seek solace it doesn’t come

I offer you a hand to hold

A knowing look that we are old

I glance away to hide my tears

I look again and now you’ve died

Your cherished love by your side

heartbreakinspirationallove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jim DeLillo

Jim DeLillo writes about tech, science, and travel. He is also an adventure photographer specializing in transporting imagery and descriptive narrative.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.