Poets logo

Hey There, Coffee. Get Over Here, You Sexy Beast

Awaken my senses

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
40
photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Hey there, coffee

How you doing, honey?

Get over here. I’ve got something to tell you

*

I was considering writing this piece about beer, but then I remembered he’s just my side hustle

You’re my true love

Come on now, sweetie. Don’t get jealous

You know we agreed to an open relationship

You also know if anyone should be concerned, it should be me

After all, you’re the biggest cheater on the planet

How many lips do you kiss in the morning?

How many do you drive wild with your irresistible aroma

As those lips bathe in your nutty deliciousness

*

Oh, don’t be coy. You know you’re special

You know you’re loved the world over, and you revel in your infidelity

But it’s ok. I still love you anyway

You unapologetic slut

Now, get over here and awaken my senses

My eyes are open and I’m looking at you, Gorgeous

Get over here and satisfy me

Make me your slave, you dark, delicious beast

And I will forever be yours

This piece was written for the "Drink" prompt on the Facebook group Vocal Writing Prompts.

performance poetry
40

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I love it! Coffee is definately an entity in it's own right.

  • J. R. Lowe2 years ago

    Bahahah thank you for sharing this, Cathy. Made my day 🤣

  • you unapologetic slut...I believe I have now adopted this phrase. This was great!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Hahaha, that's fantastic

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    I love this so much!

  • Clyde E. Dawkins2 years ago

    LOL beautiful and humorous!!

  • D-Donohoe2 years ago

    Love starting a day with a smile (and a coffee!)

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Ahhhhh. Good morning sweet talk. 😎Love it. 🥰

  • Fun poem!

  • Can't believe I didn't read this sooner! I LOVE COFFEE! this was beautiful and funny and just all around coffee fanatic! Hehe

  • Eugenette Morin2 years ago

    I love the humor in this piece. 😂😉

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I knew before I read it that I would love this poem! Well done :) I refer to coffee as my liquid brain, lol.

  • Loved this! Coffee is life! ❤️

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    This is my poem every morning☕️

  • Excellent!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is great!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Excellent,👏People and their intimate relationship with their coffee😉

  • This was absolutely brilliant!

  • Sarah Loyd2 years ago

    Haha funny and cute. Well done 👍

  • This is brilliant Cathy.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    I love it! No day starts out right without some delicious coffee. I reward it with Splenda and creamer, and it rewards me with deliciousness!

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    "How many lips do you kiss in the morning?" Loved that line!!!

  • Absolutely great fun, well done

  • This is so good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.