Poets logo

HERSHEY'S MILK CHOCOLATE BAR

For The Snacktime Sonata Challenge

By Babs IversonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
30
HERSHEY'S MILK CHOCOLATE BAR
Photo by Jennie Clavel on Unsplash

Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar a special snack of my youth,

no lie, it is the absolute truth.

Believe me, candy was better than a sour pickle.

Back then, the milk chocolate bar cost only a nickel.

Created layers of flavor as smooth as silk

and made with farm fresh cow's milk.

Pure sweetness that melted in your mouth.

A comfort treat that didn't come from the south.

Manufactured in Pennsylvania,

not in Romania's Transylvania.

Better than wishing on stars,

could have eaten my weight in Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bars.

A unique sensual chocolate aroma,

was better than beef jerky from Oklahoma.

It was okay to be choosy.

The creme de la creme of snacks at the quarter movie.

Eating the yummy snack by myself,

a Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar became a meal by itself.

With twelve rectangle segments, the milk chocolate bar was sharable.

Dividing the bar in half, made life bearable.

OdevintageinspirationalGratitude
30

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm23 days ago

    “could have eaten my weight in Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bars!” 😆

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Can never go wrong with good ole chocolate. And it is good for your heart they say, in moderation. Chocolate from Transylvania...Dracula must be happy.

  • This was so great well done

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Can’t beat chocolate! I enjoyed your rhymes 🤎

  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    Made me REALLY miss the 'costs of yesteryear' with this one Babs! Whhhyyyy did things become soooo expensive? *Truly such a drag* A formidable challenge entry but overall good memories there.

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Great, now I want chocolate 😂 Very well done!

  • Moe Radosevich2 months ago

    This Pennsylvania guy been there, but never really found it as delicious and tantalizing as your brought to life, great job Babs 😊

  • I find Hershey's incredibly bland, unlike your excellent words

  • Ali SP2 months ago

    This piece made me want to devour a chocolate bar and I don’t even like chocolate. Great poem, Babs!

  • I love chocolate especially dark chocolate

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    Yes! Love chocolate bars. Definitely wish they still cost a nickel though.

  • Your poetry evokes happy memories and sweet desires by masterfully capturing the nostalgia and straightforward delight of enjoying a Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Mmmmm chocolate! Well done, my friend.

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Fabulous work! I wish they were still a nickel! lol 😁

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Babs, your poem brought back memories of that chocolate bar easing me through Vincent Price's 'The Tingler' as a kid. Lovely tribute to what should be a food group!

  • Omgggg, I'm craving for chocolate right now!! Lol. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    yay for chocolate. I liked them and still do but I prefer dark chocolate. Great descriptive poem!

  • They always tasted a bit waxy to me. The Nuggets are pretty doggone good, though.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Great poem, Babs! I'm a dark chocolate fan, myself, but that's never stopped me from enjoying Hershey's milk chocolate. Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Babs, Hershey Chocolate Bar would hire this poem for a great advertisement 🥰I am hungry now for a Hershey Chocolate Bar 🍫🥰💗

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Love this, Babs!! I'm a big fan of chocolate AND I live only about 15 minutes from Hershey and have my whole life :) I used to actually live in the town itself and graduated high school from there. Chocolate World is right next to HersheyPark and frequently has products you can't buy anywhere else. This made me so happy to read!

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    My husband still likes a plain hershey bar as a snack! I bring it to him once in a while and he loves it!!💕😊❤️

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Love the poem! You captured the essence of a good old Hershey Bar!

  • Real Poetic2 months ago

    Great poem Babs!! It’s tempting me to crave chocolate and I don’t even eat it lol !!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.