Poets logo

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Never Lived in North West England in February

An Anti-Ode to His Rainy Day Poem

By Caroline JanePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
17
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Never Lived in North West England in February
Photo by Eutah Mizushima on Unsplash

pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-

patter-patter-patter-patter-patter-patter-patter

pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-pitter-patter-

i am being water-boarded by cloud-piss

send help

Author's Note:

If you would like to read a stoic and optimistic poem about rain, please find Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's Rainy Day Poem HERE.

The man definitely "did" rain well, and it apparently rains a lot where he is from (Massachusetts).

I'd take my hat off to him if I wasn't using it for damage limitation.

humorOde
17

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz2 months ago

    Back to say Congratulations on this clever piece

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    I sense a theme...

  • Tina D'Angelo2 months ago

    I love this!!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    I read the Longfellow poem expecting to see a similar vibe. And the vibe was indeed there, but not exactly how I was expecting! Lol, this is hilarious. I need more poems in this vein! I never thought I'd feel relieved by the cold weather and snow. Endless rain drags on the soul in a much different way. Praying for sunny weather for you!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    😂 Sounds like a wet monsoon up in those parts. Loved your Anti-ode!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    hahahahaha. I thought this was going to be a really deep exercise in literature...then saw a million pitter-patters and cloud piss and creased up. Thanks Caroline. I actually love the rain...I guess the Scot in me would have to have some sorta appreciation for it. And I've written several poems about the rain. I do hate it when it drags on though and hate when I have to go out to do things in it. Mindlessly wandering in the rain is fine...but reaching work (when I used to work outside the house) with already soggy clothes at the start of the day is never great. Loved this though and I actually imagine this getting Top Story, haha!

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Great poem for sure 🥰Natures own poetry. Timeless

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    Hahaha. Sounds like you need a moment. We probably get the same amount of rain as you here is Aus, but it all comes in one day.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    I now live in one of the driest parts of the UK, but I've lived in the north west for two chunks of my life and my partner grew up in that area. After 20 odd years of not living there, he's now capable of leaving the house without a raincoat.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    So funny! I hear you as I coast to the shops in my upturned umbrella as it long lost its use as a barrier to the everlasting rain and is better served as a flotation device..

  • Cloud piss 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 And that ending hahahahahhahahahaha!! Hope you'll be okay! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Haha! Genius!

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    I once camped with Ken in a primitive campground. It rained for the whole time. Touching the tent meant it dripped . The only dry place was the port-a-potty We married anyway, but man it was brutal I was not gracious.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Hahahaha. Omfg.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I live on the west coast rain forest area…..I relate You nailed it exactly

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Impressive & creative!!! Enjoyed reading Henry's poem too!!!

  • Rachel M.J2 months ago

    Part of me feels inclined to read this word for word 😂

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    This was creative. Here in north-west PA we are being tested with snow and cold.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.