Poets logo

Hello My Old Friend

Let’s play!

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Hello My Old Friend
Photo by Alex Mihai C on Unsplash

I literally ran into a very old friend today

The timing could not have been more perfect,

I didn’t realise how much I needed to see her

Until seeing her had such a profound effect.

***

I regret the time and years we have spent apart

As she is my complete personality opposite,

She’s so much more fun to hang around with

She’s the life of the party and totally immoderate.

***

She has a huge ego, nobody can best her

She doesn’t have a filter, who cares who gets hurt,

Don’t stand in her way, she’ll walk right over you

Kindness, forget it, she’ll happily treat you like dirt.

***

She’s dark, cruel and absolutely totally heartless

She will laugh at my pain, angry at my naivety,

I expect her lectures and she doesn’t disappoint

She has taught me better and hates my passivity.

***

She’s tough, resilient, hurtful and bossy to boot

I’d forgotten her lesson, kindness does not pay,

She helps me welcome the darkness, my strength

Reminding me to party hard but never stay.

***

She flirts from lover to lover, leaving a world of pain

She’s learnt that none of them can be trusted,

Moving on before they can beat her down

Looking over her shoulder, totally disgusted.

***

She hates my optimistic views, my never ending hope

She berates me for my softness, my loving heart,

I allow her blackened personality to rub off on me

And I accept her help to turn my heart hard and dark.

***

Whereas I’m usually all about living, laughing

Dancing, loving, kindness, empathy bestowed,

My old friend is more about raising, aiming

Firing, maiming, hurting, killing and then reload.

***

She has always had my back, lends me her strength

She turns up at opportune times and helps me survive,

I beat myself up constantly for loosing contact

As with her by my side I couldn’t help but thrive.

***

I’ll not let her disappear from my life again

As she’s done me a huge favour arriving today,

I’ve been recently reminded my way of living

My softness, my kindness, will only see me pay.

***

I’m no longer interested in love or playing nice

I need her to teach me the way of the darkness,

I love her cruelty, her devil may care attitude

I have every intention in mimicking her hardness.

***

She truly inspires me with her strength, her wildness

She has so much more fun, life to her is a game,

I’m going to become an avid student, her best yet

As I take notes and learn to take, hurt and maim.

***

These are all lessons she has taught me before

You see, she’s actually my living and breathing duality,

My darkness, my cruelty, my revenge, my grudge

She is my polar opposite but she’s still totally me!

**************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

sad poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This poem was super relatable and this confirms that you indeed have a cctv in my head lol!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.