Poets logo

He Wooed Me

A poem of romance and passion

By Athena Williams Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

He wooed me with his words; he wooed me with his respect. Then he wooed me with his passion.

When I was at the end of the road, the road I traveled for companionship, he found me. He found me and coaxed me back to life. His words lifted the spirits of the wilted flower that had been neglected for too long. He saw my beauty, he saw my worth, he saw my pain. He softly began to till the soil that my roots clung to for life.

As he cared for the wilted flower that was me, the gentle hands that worked brought life back into my form.

After stepping back he looked at what he had found. Gazing upon this man, the man who wooed, grateful for his care, I saw the wounds life had left him with. I saw the pain and yet his gentle hands and kind words worked life back into my soul. Amazed I looked at him, thankful for his attention and his care. When I thought he was finished, finished and satisfied with what he accomplished, he watered the ground and he watered the flower that was me.

The refreshing cool life giving water fell around me, it engulfed me and ran through me. It filled every space, every hole, and every crevice. It filled me.

Wanting more and yet knowing what the world has taught me I waited, I waited for him to turn. I waited for him to turn away satisfied and off to search for another wilted flower. Then he astonished me, he sat and he talked. He filled my ears with hope, he filled my ears with fears, dreams, and the future. As he sat he watched the sunset. When the day darkened to night he slept. He slept next to me and woke to see the blossom that was me. His smile filled me with joy and I flourished in the beauty that was him.

The day came and went and yet again I wondered would turn away from the flower that was me; instead; he prayed , he prayed for the soil, for the soil to enrich me. He prayed for my past struggle, he prayed for the future and my soul. He prayed for me.

As the darkness began to engulf the day, I knew in the morning there he would be with the water and with the words that would again give a little bit more life to the woman I was meant to be.

When the sun rose the man woke and where the flower was, a woman stood. A woman with her own water. A woman ready and willing to fill his cup as he had filled her.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Athena Williams

I am a single mother who is an entrepreneur, I am a wellness partner for Amare Global, I work at Stanley Steemer, and I have words in my heart that need to get on paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.