Poets logo

Shipwreck

A poem about the darkness of heartbreak.

By Athena Williams Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I stood motionless, darkened.

A shell of a person lost in a sea of sadness.

The storm kept pulling me under.

Breath escaped me, water, inked by sadness invading.

I should have known the storm would consume me.

Standing helpless as the waves took over.

Out of control, the sea engulfed what was once my dream.

My body immersed in the fluid prison.

I watched as lightening brought a glow to the disaster,

Only to disorient me with the sting.

My home invade, my dreams destroyed.

My lungs, the warden of my life, forcing breath when I wanted none.

I trusted deeply the home on the sea.

Working tirelessly to keep our ship a float.

The waves have broken our home apart,

My proud achievement, lost to me.

I gave my heart to my captain of the sea.

Watching him fight tirelessly.

When out of no where the sirens came and sang my love away.

My love is in the deepest part of the sea.

I watch in grave horror as he slowly drowns me.

I fought at first to stay a float,

Wanting to rise above and not choke

My body numb from dark cold, I succumb and let it take hold.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Athena Williams

I am a single mother who is an entrepreneur, I am a wellness partner for Amare Global, I work at Stanley Steemer, and I have words in my heart that need to get on paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.