Poets logo

He Doesn't Send Me Flowers

By Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Дмитрий from Pexels

My man shows love in countless ways.

He tells me with his eyes.

He cooks and cleans without complaint

Unlike so many guys.

*

He tells me funny anecdotes.

I sometimes laugh for hours.

He compliments me often,

But, he doesn't send me flowers.

*

"And just why is that?" you may ask,

"for flowers satisfy."

He simply won't spend hard-earned cash

On something doomed to die.

*

It really doesn't bother me.

He's right - they fade away.

He gives a much more priceless gift -

Declaring love each day.

*

And when we become intimate,

The man has super powers.

He's mine until death parts us.

I prefer him over flowers.

❤️‍🔥

For my husband, Ted. 💛🧡♥️

love poems

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julie LacksonenWritten by Julie Lacksonen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.