Poets logo

Harangue Me

Poor little damsel in distress

By Anna TorresPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
Like
Harangue Me
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I am severely disappointed in you. Poor little damsel, who is going to save you now? This stranger has now left me alone to pick up the pieces. What I assumed would be permanent turned out to be temporary. But the skull I now have in my hands once resided on your shoulders. The trauma you subjected me to I threw back at you as well. Medusa had it right, my stare will turn you into stone. But your gaze never turned my way and eventually, my grasp sought out your head instead. Your actions never matched your words so I must decapitate you from your spine for your indifference. Indecent compassion and compromised judgement forced me to hold you accountable. The scales must be balanced for the both of us. I will meet my fate with a triumphant roar. I can only hope you will meet yours and be stripped of your vanity. You left me in distress amidst the chaos in your mess. You thought rejection in your wake would devastate me. I rejected you years ago but still held firm in my loyalty. My devotion is a thing that had to be completely broken before I could begin anew. What title do I give you now? Former lover and absent father? What can sustain me now? You cannot vanquish me now. You can't punish me anymore than I've punished myself. You're not akin to godliness. Your false power cannot delude me any further. Buried down by the weight of your infernal glory. You lit the match to set me ablaze but I am immune to the fire. I've drank plenty of antidotes to inoculate myself from your presence. I've been tested and have survived to make it to the finish line. I can't continue to believe that I must struggle in order to heal. Why must I suffer because I feel it's my burden? What remains that can justify this injustice? I'm not the victim you thought you created. We couldn't align our trajectories and will never intersect. There is no peril strong enough where I can't rescue myself. Dragon breath and serpent fangs cannot penetrate me. Tiger blood and mammoth tongues cannot smother me. I don't need your permission or your approval anymore. You had your chance to evolve and you still chose to regress. I chose myself over you instead. I don't need a hero to lift me into the sky. I don't need anything except for these tears to dry

sad poetrysurreal poetryinspirationalheartbreakFree Verse
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.