Poets logo

Hibernation

The cold never bothered me

By Anna TorresPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
3
Hibernation
Photo by Fabrice Villard on Unsplash

Diseased decrepit meat. The stench is rotting and festering in this hibernation we have endured. Gangrene is the detachment I need to rectify my losses. What did it cost me? My sincerity and my safety. You made me out to be the villain so villainous I became. I was worried that this ending would be the end of me. But the cold tundra and frozen earth has preserved my extremities very well. Reduced to dehumanizing artifices. Hypothermic selfishness prevented me from reaching my full potential. Your shivering cowardly torso lies dying in the heap of lies you concocted. Concealing every detail of your failed experiment. What did you seek to find? What did you think would happen when I told you the future was mine? I survived the harshness of winter alone while you succumbed to frostbitten elements. You weren't a paradox for me to unfold. You were merely a stepping stone on my way to tropical bliss. I don't know how you could have lived with yourself amidst all your arrogance and contradictions. The damaged truth means nothing in this toxic toxicity of a cave we once called home. We draw our symbols of contempt in the mountain walls in hopes we would be remembered. But the last 15 years have evaporated just like the breath in your lungs. Exposure to your own necrotizing tendencies has resulted in your immobility. I can stand up and walk away or crawl if I must. I leave you with no circulation in your veins. Your venemous blood can't spew out nonsense anymore. You grow numb while I am done. Done with amputated hopes and fears for a beginning that no longer includes you. I have wiped the slate clean with your narrow vessels and constricted tongue. I witness your final slumber while the mountain claims you as its final victim. Fatigue shuts you down while your flesh withers and decays in this apocalyptic state. Your exhausted pulse is slowing down. My inevitable height continues to grow. I hope your coma gives you all the pain you deserved. Your foul smell lingers and I have to vacate for my own sanity. I do not wish you good luck. I do not bid you farewell. I do not give you one final glance. I have my own journey to embark on and your absence is the greatest gift you could ever give. You can't hinder me anymore. What bound us together only made us suffer. Sometimes people only enter your life with no intention of staying. They just teach you your lesson and you are better for it. You were never meant to stay. You kept all of my blessings at bay. Here's to the future I promised to myself. I leave you behind along with everything else. Nothing grew here though we desperately tried. Courage is what I need but your omission will ultimately suffice

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.