Poets logo

The Gauntlet

Fear is on my side

By Anna TorresPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
2
The Gauntlet
Photo by guille pozzi on Unsplash

I'm right where I started again

Wallowing in self doubt and throwing pity parties for myself

The finish line never felt so far away

I'm in last place and this is a race I'm not prepared for

I remember trying to banish these thoughts before they ever start

I just decided to simply try my best and hope for a miracle

I remember writing poetry on my arms and covering up the scars

The past has a way of continuing to control me

Where are the blessings I crave so dearly?

Why am I stricken with discord so abundantly?

Discouraged time and time again

I know the way to overcome is to just to go straight through

I wish I could just fast forward to the future where I'm content and grateful

I'm no longer waiting on the universe to create a happy ending

I'm motivated enough and stubborn enough to trudge through the trenches

I'm not where I want to be but I'm further along than where I used to be

My plans gave way to alternative routes and scenic detours

Assuming the worst will happen will never have a choke hold on me again

Projecting false prophecies and beliefs is a hobby I don't have time for

The future is waiting on me to arrive and I will greet it with a smile

The ending is only what we make of it

The beginning is the most difficult step especially when we fall off time and time again

Free Versesurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.