Poets logo

Happy

a poem

By Aubrey BerryPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Happy
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

I remember being happy

When the world was rosy and new

I remember being happy

All smiles and morning dew

The world was big and bright

And life made perfect sense

I remember being happy

Once

And then life turned left

I remember finding happy

When darkness held its sway

I remember finding happy

Amongst the bitterness and decay

He came into my life like the hero of my dreams

Turned into my nightmare, throwing out the key

I remember finding happy

Once

When I left anyway

I remember building happy

From the wreckage of my life

I remember building happy

Amidst and the wonderings and whys

I found purpose in my flames

And anger in my veins

And I reforged myself Happy

I would never be the same

I remember easy happy

Once

I found my way

I remember easy happy

And the friends that came to stay

And life seemed to make more sense

When I wasn’t searching for the way

I remember easy happy

Alone and soaring high

I remember feeling happy

I remember how it passed

As new days turned to old days

And months bled into years

I remember feeling happy,

Hopeful, true

I remember feeling happy

Happy to wait for you

Now I wonder what I remember

Happy to feel like at all

I’m tired of waiting

I’m tired of searching

I’m tired of it all

But some days, every now and then I think I do remember

I remember feeling happy

I remember believing in you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.