Poets logo

Happy Father's Day, Dad

One Day Isn't Enough

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6

Ah, daddy, you may not be able to remember

all the ways you have guarded my heart

That I know, everything you surrendered

to help, so my steps weren't so hard

For the times you took my burden on you

to help me build a future, stress free

All the lengths that you gladly went through

to show me, how much you loved me

But I knew that long before I was grown up

from my earliest memories, I could see

It was never about the having the cool stuff

you were teaching me, love was the key

So today, I want just to remind you

I am grateful for all that I have

All I could ever dream, surely came true

because I am blessed, to call you "my dad"

love poems
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    You are one of the lucky ones. So happy you have such great dad memories.

  • So tender & sweet. I pray you are able to share it with him & that he might know that it is not for one day a year only but for always that you hold this love (his & yours) in your heart.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fabulous Father's day poem!!! Lovely tribute to your amazing dad that was lovingly written!!!💖💖💕

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    What a wonderful tribute! This gets the Dad Seal of Approval!

  • Aww Kelli, This Got me Teary-eyed🥹❤️📝 I could feel the love inside this Beautiful Piece, Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.