Poets logo

Happily Ever After

Memories

By Mary Louisa CappelliPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Limor Zellermayer on Unsplash

You can have the antique pine armoire

and the sofa and love seat and

I suppose the cotton slipcovers.

I’ll take the Pottery Barn entertainment

center and the flat-screen TV.

You can have the coffee table and the

Picasso books we bought in Paris.

I’ll take the hand-beaded lamp shades|

and the brass iron candlesticks.

You can have the John Lennon Lithograph|

and the leather recliner.

I’ll take Janine and her

American Doll Heritage Collection.

You have the five poster mahogany bed —

I couldn’t sleep on it anyway.

You might as well take the goose comforter too.

I’ll take the hand-carved pine dresser

we bought in Buenos Aires when

we visited my brother.

You can have the Hitchcock Collection.

I’ll take Fitzgerald and Ellington albums

as well as the turntable.

You can have the Electra ten-speed tandem.

I’ll take the Twins and their baseball gear.

You can have the Ikea dining room table

and I suppose the chairs.

I’ll take the Soho breakfast bowls

and I’d really like to keep the

Barocco Rosso Italian plates

They were a wedding gift from my

cousins in Sicily.

You can have the … globe

… and I suppose the Alas.

I’d appreciate it if you can take

your stuff by Saturday morning.

I’m having the carpets shampooed

at noon. And it would really be nice

to have

your stuff

out of here

by then.

https://video214.com/play/o0pPKHTSadz9JVzXNqpOjA/s/dark

Originally published on Medium.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.