Poets logo

Hallowed Be Thy Name

Eve was framed.

By Helen SederPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
Hallowed Be Thy Name
Photo by Fumiaki Hayashi on Unsplash

I want you to tell them all I was crazy

Let me put it in words they can understand.

Tell them I was too sensitive and couldn't take a joke;

Leave out that you do not regard women as equals,

And will curse those who did not respect the cross on your neck.

Tell them all I was unstable,

Because when you held my past against my throat I did not fear your knife.

I am the child in front of King Solomon.

And I am the mother who loves him.

I welcome loneliness rather than being split in half.

Proclaim loudly that I am the whore of Babylon

While being bitter that I am not the Mary who will undress for you.

(Do not tell them you expect both

Because you have not sinned in this scenario .)

Let them know I was unwilling to compromise and asked too many questions

Without mentioning your stalwart nature

Because "You're just being honest."

And I've no right to contradict.

Like Lot's wife in the bible, I am not worthy of a name,

And should be punished for my curiosity.

Remind them I took my politics too seriously

Since for you it was neither here nor there.

Omit that yours were hobby while mine were survival.

Just like Lilith I was too outspoken

And you think no one should remember me anyway.

Forget not to mention you fought for our freedom,

With scripture stained upon your back.

Do not remind them I fought for myself on a battlefield at home.

Don't admit to them that Eve ate the apple to gain knowledge. Pretend it had everything to do with Adam.

Since sluts will do anything to ruin a man.

You will be sure to always remind me:

Mary Magdalene was just a whore.

How could I be anything more?

slam poetry
6

About the Creator

Helen Seder

Art doesn’t need to be “good.” It just needs to be.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    This is brilliant! I love the dichotomy of women from ancient Biblical scripture and modern language. It perfectly depicts that everything and nothing has changed. So many advancements, yet we’re still viewing women through the same lens. It’s outrageous how much I relate to this poem and the ideas hurled at me as a woman when it’s a common interpretation of supposedly sacred texts. I would say reading this made me angry—but I was already angry, and I don’t trust anyone who isn’t.

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    Powerful. And full of allusions—love it!

  • Whoaaaa, this was extremely powerful! I love this so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.