Poets logo

A Meal for One

eat your fill.

By Helen SederPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4
A Meal for One
Photo by Del Barrett on Unsplash

I want to have you.

To eat of your skin and bone

To fill the hole in me

with the heft of your soul.

I need to take you.

All your love and hate

Your want

Your have

What you have lost

What you can find

I need it to be mine.

Only, you are the type

To keep me in wait

A love-lorn pup

To have me sit. To stay. To come.

At wait for your beck and call.

But

A day will come

When my will to wait is done.

I will take what I can,

And if that is all of you,

Then I will eat my fill.

And if none of you lays,

No full body at my feet,

I will know that some now gone girl

Some long gone love,

Got fat off what was mine.

So I will weep and ache,

Left so bare.

As I bury what I held so high for you:

The ruin of what love may be.

The guts and gore,

So true and sure

Left to rot in the soil

And boil in the sun.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Helen Seder

Art doesn’t need to be “good.” It just needs to be.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Such a ‘damning’ tone! A terrific poem Helen! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.