Poets logo

Half-Baked Heist

Or, How the bandit became a breadwinner

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Artur Rutkowski on Unsplash

The masked bandit known as John Doe

Growled, "Stick 'em up! Gimme your dough!"

Said I, "This takes the cake, sir.

You've held up a baker!

So, here you go ..." Cried Doe, "Dough?!? D'oh!"

:-b

This poem is dedicated to the creative Andrei Z, who became my 100th subscriber!!! Hooray!!

Congratulations! (Pixabay)

Andrei accepted my invitation to suggest two words to incorporate in a limerick. He gave me: doe and dough. At first I played around with the idea of a deer who wanted to earn bucks as a tailor ... but then landed on this poem instead.

I'm having too much fun to stop now ... so if you want to play along, click below to subscribe and then comment with two words or one theme of your choosing. I'll credit you in the poem notes (whether you like it or not!).

To my already-reader-friends, if you want ME to give YOU two words or a theme for a funny poem (punny foam?), comment below! Thanks!

A few other new-subscriber-inspired limericks:

humor
9

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Love your limerick poems, the put a smile to my face ♥️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fun and funnier!!! Love this!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Hi Sonia! 👋 I’m new here. ☺️ Here are two words for you: “metro” and “mountain.”

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Hahaha! Hilarious but now I want to see the deer tailor one too 🤣🤣. Ahhh I’m a tiny bit afraid to volunteer myself but…. what the heck, let’s do it! 🫣🤣. How about give me two words? And congrats on 100!!!

  • I love it. You even gave us a little Homer Simpson here.

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    Yay! Nice one! I would have never guessed it'd go this way. Congrats on having your 100th subscriber, aka me :D

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Hahaha!! Clever and thoroughly entertaining. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.