Poets logo

Had A Good Home When I Left

...you're right

By CarmenJimersonCross-SafieddinePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Had A Good Home When I Left
Photo by CONNOR BOTTS on Unsplash

THE LINE WAS SIGNED

and I left to follow through

follow thru on signed honor

to "DO MY BEST" at learning to pretect the rest

of what was left behind.

Children, stored life and a rabbit.

I left

I left

and they stormed in.

They stormed in ...

wild and disruption fashioned...

"NO MONEY"

"NO CAR"

"NO WAY" to do they own thing

No how

and it wasn't gonna matter

if MA knew what they was going to do.

My job was to monitor them

Know their actions

Curb their deeds and misdeeds.

They stormed in

and took the keys to the rabbit

used the checks to the bank

bought gas, snacks and

THEY LEFT (you're right)

to do what siblings out of control do.

They were irresponsible

they were "not to blame"

they were uncontrollable

in and of themselves

in my absence.

My absence gave them freedom from the constraint of being "told on"

to mom

who was now undercover of caring

...playing guardian

for a month or two of Sundays

while I stepped... prominaded... called out cadence

and forwarded what was earned

to the care of two

left to a guardian.

THEY LEFT and wrecked the rabbit

ran low the funds

and bore ticket after ticket on the title plate thereon.

They left no ideal for respect for their relation

gave no clue as to their direction

(South to New Orleans) for a day.. or two... or few)

at our expense... the guardian... two left behind... and I.

And when it was ended

when the day had drawn to

...the marching was over

the bending been done;

when the flight plan had landed

and the honor was won

I CAME BACK

to rebuild a "good home"

for the two left behind

conclude setter fees paid for guardian love

impart the misdealings with a Rabbit... undone

implore the good record implored on barren account

reconcile clothing accounts and settle for items stored

while I went out to gather up

a pittance from the third income.

Went shopping for the husband man

left behind... assured

and settled up the aftermath

of life and home restored.

I had a good home when I left?

You're right...

the job, the car and the kids...

you're right

The man?

he switched over night...

so right

I could make a good home

on my own

...on my own...

...on my own. good night.

humor

About the Creator

CarmenJimersonCross-Safieddine

A widow, sharing experiences. SHARING LIFE LIVED, things seen, lessons learned & spreading peace where I can.

Call me "Gina" ( pronounced "jeena" ) short for REGINA

more at my original page https://vocal.media/authors/carmen-jimerson-cross

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CarmenJimersonCross-SafieddineWritten by CarmenJimersonCross-Safieddine

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.