Poets logo

Gut Instinct

be damned

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished about a month ago 3 min read
18
Gut Instinct
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I was torn,

I didn’t want him, either.

He’d been a thorn in my side his entire life.

I should have simply left him there,

Like everyone else did.

Over & done,

That was that.

I had won.

†††

But a thorn in his crown

was not enough,

not for me.

He would pay

for what he & his family had done,

they would suffer

& all would pay the price.

They would suffer

as I have suffered.

†††

So I wrested him

from where he rested,

& created for him a special tomb

from which he would never rest.

“You’re no better than me

or any of these others,

myriads whose cries

God has ignored,”

I spat in his face.

He simply stared

as though my words meant nothing,

though clearly they did.

Something mattered.

If not my words,

then what?

†††

I spat again,

words of accusation,

ridicule,

abuse.

I struck him,

whipped him,

deprived him of sleep,

food,

water,

taunted him with drink

just beyond his reach.

†††

“You’re no different,

no better than them,

all those whom God has forsaken,

abandoned to this place,”

I said to him spitefully.

With venom in my throat,

I pointed to them,

his gaze following

the haggard tip

of my bony finger.

Then with that digit

I took his chin

& turned him back.

bitterly rasping,

“You’re no different

or better

than me.

You will have

things your way

or not at all.”

†††

His gaze,

first toem,

then as though right through me,

as though I did not know

what I was doing….

†††

Them?

They are what matters to you?

†††

At that moment

I knew how to make him pay…,

make them all pay.

I turned up the heat—

make them suffer

& he will suffer,

he will renounce it all,

everything he has done,

believed

& held dear.

He will beg my forgiveness

& turn to me

for redemption.

if only but

to save them.

†††

Yet the more I turned the screws,

the more he looked to them

& they to him—

compassion in his eyes,

balm for their souls—

& before three days had passed,

I lost them all,

rescued as one

from my grasp.

†††

That instinct,

I should have trusted my gut

& left him there to rot,

forgotten & alone.

Heaven didn’t want him,

God’s back had been turned,

I didn’t want him,

he turned my stomach

& made me burn,

broken,

despised,

abandoned

& alone.

†††

i was the one

who stole his body from the tomb

& i'm glad.

†††

i’m glad that

my hatred & spite

drove me to this,

that gut instinct

could not prevent me,

for as i sit

here in the darkness,

evanescing & powerless,

remembering his gaze,

i find in this harrowing

something i have not known

from the day i first was cast down….

†††

Hope.

†††

†††

My Good Friday offering. Blessings, one & all.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
18

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 26 days ago

    PHENOMENAL!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • The Dani Writer29 days ago

    Wow. Randy this is 'next-levels' something else! You surprise me, my friend. Truly!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    This is blistering stuff! Goosebumps.

  • Asad Messageabout a month ago

    very nice

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Very vividly written, Randy. Gave me chills.

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    This was so deep. Leaves one in total awe of all that is rotten in the world. Should we be concerned that God is so silent in the face of our stupidity. Is something coming that we feel in the dystopian winds. Ominous and chilling, yet still we hope.

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Randy, your piece is so gritty but moving, so informative and introspective. Bravo! 👏

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so intense and extremely powerful! Blessings for you too Randy!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    👏👏👏 Take a bow, Pastor Randy. This was very immersive and full of mixed emotions for me. Happy Easter! 💐✨

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Passion of Christ poem , nicely done

  • Colleen Millsteed about a month ago

    Raw and powerful Randy.

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    This Saturday it’s important to remember that Sunday’s on the way.

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a month ago

    This is very intense and guttural, well written nonetheless

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.