Poets logo

Growing Older With The Wisdom Of The Ages

Growing old is not a given

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
3
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I hesitate to look in the mirror some days,

As when I do I see I’m no longer that innocent child,

No there are definitely too many wrinkles,

As my life has been far from mild.

***

I feel like the same young woman on the inside,

But recognise the signs of growing older,

Some days I wish for a time machine,

Then I realise I’ve grown a whole lot bolder.

***

For every year I have graced this earth,

I have matured with an age old wisdom, gracefully,

No longer sweating the small stuff,

Trusting that tomorrow will resolve these issues faithfully.

***

I’m slowly coming to terms with my own mortality,

Although my fear of death is still very prominent,

Every day a little closer,

The feelings and anxiety still dominant.

***

But that fear and anxiety is only partially for me,

It’s more so for the lives of those I love,

I’m terrified of the day that they’ll each perish,

And rise to the great height of the other world above.

***

Ageing is not all sorrow and gloom,

As I look at my life these days,

I’ve grown, I’m wiser, I’m happier,

I’ve changed in the most glorious of ways.

***

I treasure every day a little more than the last,

And honour my relationships with more awareness,

Living mindfully every single second of our time together,

Heightening my love and self awareness.

***

I no longer ‘need’ company every minute of the day,

As I’ve come to terms with the very essence of who I am,

Using my solitary time for the love of me,

Rather than living a life of neediness as a sacrificial lamb.

***

What you see these days, is what you get,

No longer needing everyone’s approval,

I’ll welcome you with loving arms,

But do me wrong and you’ll soon see my method of removal.

***

Growing older, I realised, is a privilege of our world,

Many don’t make it, sadly they loose their fight,

So treasure the ageing years, for the gift it is,

Growing older is not necessarily a given right.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Love this, and it's so true.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Super inspirational!!! Left some love!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.