Poets logo

Green and gray

Mice and limes

By Benjamin SkaggsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Outside work

being green is easy

I used to think green was gross

one day I realized what owns me is gray

How fun,

How fun it is to be green and gray

Decomposing at night into a sweet green mattress

Waking up to a gray world

Save up your money, green

Only way to step outside the gray walls existing forever

Gray floors gray couches

Green trees and green hearts deep down

Masked in the gray of reality

Life was never beautiful to begin with

Not for anyone.

Green guys, gray gals

Gray men, green women

America isn’t so green

No not anywhere really.

Gray prisons

Gray stuffed animals

Gray pillows

Green sweaters

Wearing color into the grocery store

Green produce brought from green grasses under the gray eyes of a cynically green led authority

Not renewable

Keep consuming the green and grays until we’re all dead.

I’m gonna miss my sugary grandma

I’m gonna miss the green grass

I don’t know if I’ll see you at the end of my life

You don’t know either really

We’ll continue paying our bills

Until more gray washes over our harvested vegetable bodies

Music to feed what some think is a soul

Donating my body to science

I hope I don’t feel the burning of my skin and bones in chemicals

I hope I find true green

It’s inside everyone

I don’t want to let it go just yet

I want to let it out first

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BSWritten by Benjamin Skaggs

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.