Poets logo

Grateful

Sharing My Thoughts

By Dan R FowlerPublished 7 months ago 1 min read

Grateful

People ask me the same question,

About Thanksgiving and my reflections.

Of times past, and present, and those yet to come,

Of merriment and turkey, “Oh, I’d like to have some.”

It’s been this way for as long as I’ve known,

Early mornings in the kitchen, cooking alone.

Why go to the trouble some have often asked,

From the time of my youth now all in the past.

Spices and herbs add that special touch,

As I remember Mom’s hands adding so much.

Gone are those that shared memories with all,

Leaving deep within me the “how-to” to recall.

So, for the time I have remaining like others I’m sure,

I’ll give of myself to make a day filled with love pure.

On each plate, some offering portioned out galore,

Each a memory from times that are no more.

Am I thankful for the things that I see before me?

The house, the clothes, the simple things that I see.

That is a question we answer the best that we can,

But for me, the answer is easier now than when I began.

Gone are those things that used to be,

Those people who were here and were easy to see.

What remained inside were those blessings called friends,

Who stay during the storms of life, staying until the end.

Holiday

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • tarun bhatt7 months ago

    Great poem on ur reflection of thanks giving

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.