Poets logo

Behind the Curtain

Waiting Their Turn

By Dan R FowlerPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023

Behind The Curtain

It’s not for lack of words or thoughts within me,

That I hesitate to tell the tale within my head I see.

Countless figures aligned in rows standing toe-to-toe,

Speechless, motionless, breathless and cold.

Spirits beseech me as they’ve done before,

Using nightly touches, whisperings, all in accord.

Be willing to know that which is beyond this door,

One of sorrows, lamenting songs, tales of yore.

Yet I hold my peace finger pressed against my lips,

As my soul seeks comfort, from faith’s fountain sips.

It’s up to me whether said characters animate,

To sing or dance upon my stage that I make.

I watch them watch me those objects in my mind,

Ones that console me or frighten me or treat me kind.

Waiting lifeless, heartless, and soulless willing to be alive,

Empty pages, vacant lines, they remain willing to survive.

Pen in hand, ink well filled, fingers poised,

I touch seducing parchment redundancy to avoid.

Swirling, dancing, mimicking no longer devoid,

Of life’s gifts that make them alive and overjoyed.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Excellent and evocative poem! Superb job. My brain always struggles to rhyme for some reason but I enjoyed yours here.👏

  • Daphsam7 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story it’s amazing poem!

  • Test8 months ago

    Excellent poem. Clear the mind

  • tarun bhatt8 months ago

    Nice and easy read. Great job

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    Excellent comes to mind.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    I actually feel like this is a thought in ones mind. Well done Congratulations

  • This was so beautifully written! Such a wonderful poem!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I like this a lot- but I still want to explore what the hesitance is about!

  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    This is great work you can join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you.

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.