Poets logo

LIES

A Wasted Life

By Dan R FowlerPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read

Lies

Am I to assume that if you’re silent,

That I’m clear of your sobbing, your lament?

For it’s better to say what you think,

Than to sit in tears for years in bitter discontent.

Years have passed without much change,

From youth to old age nothing much to acclaim.

For it’s better to let it go, that thorn of contention,

Of things that offended, too many to mention.

Had there been some truth at the start,

Some clarity, some revealing within my heart.

Then I would’ve been less inclined to disregard,

Whispers in the darkness, sharp as glass shards.

But deep are the cuts and slashes plenty,

To my soul, to my being, leaving me empty.

We’re told that time will cure the pain,

But for me, my soul, it will never be the same.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Kyleigh Richard 8 months ago

    Beautiful, haunting, I enjoyed reading!!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.