Poets logo

Goodbye My Almost Lover

When trauma continues spinning the wheels of heartache, but reality sets me free.

By Nani CruzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Goodbye My Almost Lover
Photo by Alin Luna on Unsplash

The fate of heartache

brought us to this place

where what ifs and unknowns

consume nightly dreams.

The trauma of the past

interweaved its way into the

loss of love and comfort

found in you.

Where endless nights spent

weeping after a tug-of-war

for the right words

and for consolation of whether

the end was truly meant to be

or if it was the consequence of trauma.

Heartache to screaming to regret

in knowing you were there

but my heart was smashed

in a way that would not allow you

to continue to love me.

The perpetual downward spiral

of self-sabotage after a mistake

from the past always seems to

haunt my dreams.

See, if the powers that be

had altered the circumstances,

then the path for us would have remained

and would have likely been a blissful one .

But years later

I now understand why

you were always meant to be

my almost lover.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Nani Cruz

As a 23 year old grad school student, I spend a lot of time writing academically. Now I’m taking time to write creatively and enjoy creating stories about whatever makes me happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.