Poets logo

Housed Within My Soul

I’m my memories

By Colleen Millsteed Published 12 days ago 2 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I’m a powerhouse of the past; an inbuilt hard drive,

A filing system of experiences, of happiness and pain,

A recall of desires; meshed within my resistance,

Soldered heartache, jelled euphoria and the incessant insane.

**

I’m the child screaming in terror on the darkest of nights,

The giggling girl with the hysterical sense of humour,

The obstinate rebel without a cause; defiantly strong,

And the disbeliever of gossip and sordid rumour.

**

I’m the broken familiar link; the darkest sheep in the herd,

The outcast that lives left field of the comfort zone,

Absorbing one’s fear while refusing to turn tail and run,

Sheltered by the barrier wrapped around the persona shown.

**

I’m the adventuress; the explorer of my personal space,

Pushing boundaries upon unknown muddy land,

Always riding fear’s wave to dramatic effect,

Until I’m finally cast aside and alone I stand.

**

I’m the strength that melds my heart against bitterness,

The cry that travels the dreams within my darkest night,

The protector of my hopes that swirl within my orbit,

Caging my insecurities hugging me too tight.

**

I’m the solo traveller of independence and grit,

Bottled love tangibly stolen,

A heart double-walled and caged in steel,

Full of forgotten love; untethered and swollen.

**

I’m a bubble of gratitude; blessed by sensitivity,

Lucky to have experienced the best of days,

Hours that shone with happiness and joy,

Heartfelt emotions and sisterly praise.

**

I’m a paradox of pain and sheer delight,

A depth of loss and never-ending sorrow,

A mixture of heartbreak and loving light,

Of undeterred joy and hope for tomorrow.

**

I’m one of a kind; a life well lived,

Full of bad luck and unexpected tragedy,

Eyes that smile with surprise and glee,

A soul filled with fear, hope, courage and spirituality.

This poem has been written as part of the Know Thyself, Heal Thyself Prompt by Diana C. (Medium Publication and Writer)

I chose the following prompt :

Write about the core memories that built you.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Stream of Consciousnesslist
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake12 days ago

    It is heartbroken. That's it!

  • You are such a strong woman! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Love your poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.