Poets logo

Goodbye

I loved you before I even knew what love was

By L. J. Knight Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Goodbye
Photo by Khadeeja Yasser on Unsplash

How can something so pure

Hurt so much?

I fell in love

Before I even knew what love was

And all this time

I've been searching

For a piece of myself

That I had given away

A piece of myself

I wouldn't take back

For anything

I hope

She's safe

And I hope

She's loved

But I have to let go

Or I will never

See that piece of myself

Again

Goodbye

I have loved you

All these years

I know you

Better than I know myself

You have seen me

Rise and fall

And carry a weight

Too big for my shoulders

And I have watched you

Grow up

Live, learn, change

And transform into

A beautiful, strong, independent

Woman

Goodbye

The next time we meet

I hope to see that light in your eyes

That I've cherished

And I hope

You see it in mine

Goodbye

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

L. J. Knight

I'm the girl who writes poetry in coffee shops, who walks the halls with a book under her nose, lost in her thoughts. I'm the girl with the quiet voice and the smart eyes, the one who dreams for the moon and hopes to land among stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.