Poets logo

Broken Heart Poet

The Phoenix Poetess

By L. J. Knight Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Broken Heart Poet
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

I'm not a broken heart poet

I'm a ripped and shattered soul

A poetess who wields words as her swords

The lioness who's roar broke the night

And from which even the fiercest lions fled

I'm not soft, no

I'm hard edges and cut glass

I pick up the jagged shards of my mind and while blood coats my fingers

I piece myself back together

Holding on to every tiny sliver of flesh with pure will alone

So, no, baby

I won't write about how much my heart breaks for you

I write about how much my heart burns with bitter fury

And transforms this fragile girl

Into a phoenix rising from the ashes you left of me

Flames licking the wings I crafted from the blood you spilt from me

All the things you took from me

I use to transfigure this child into an unstoppable, untamable

Queen

inspirational
1

About the Creator

L. J. Knight

I'm the girl who writes poetry in coffee shops, who walks the halls with a book under her nose, lost in her thoughts. I'm the girl with the quiet voice and the smart eyes, the one who dreams for the moon and hopes to land among stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.