Poets logo

Gold Milk

Simplicity: Vol 1 - 2 When it could all be so simple... A poetry collection of what was realized all along, but never understood until now.

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gold Milk
Photo by Dom Aguiar on Unsplash

2 Gold Milk

Hold up

You've been distant, with a sharp knife I tear a hole to see what's missing

Your soul is ripping

Your heart is dripping

Your mind is stripping

My hold is gripping

Gold milk, gold milk

A shimmering fluid of euphoria rushing to the floor

I cut you open

I needed to understand the meaning of true happiness

A feel I seek, a thrill far from reach

If this is what you say it is why can't you tell that to me

Instead you stand there and leak

Gold milk, gold milk

Nothing about this is beautiful to me

You hide underneath layers as if this is hide and go seek

Stop inching away from me

Won't sugar coat anymore, talk is cheap

And I'm feeling weak after everything you took from me

Have a drink this one's on me

Sure has been a hell of a week

Gold milk, gold milk

Memories on memories times that have flown by

Why you got to lie while looking me straight in the eyes

Don't you know what that does to me

All of the scenarios that I keep imagining

A black, broken hearted woman with damage up the ass

A dark façade waiting to be unmasked

Aren't you glad I didn't concede to who the world tried to make me be, last

Instead I fought relentlessly to get to where I felt I needed to be, unsurpassed

I hope you can still see me through all of this broken glass

I hope you can still feel me with all of this haunted past

Another shrill fills my ears

I just want to chill in this silk while I pop a pill of-

Gold milk, gold milk

I'll patch you up after all is said and done because I'm the one

Not a rerun we're still young on the border of twenty-one with so much to learn

Love isn't one, we've been down that road before

Furthermore you swore to never explore without me

But there you are figuring out ways to doubt me

Here I am none so blind as those who will not see

I'm feeling the third degree, it's like you turned up the heat

Even with my number, you still out of reach

Oh well, long time no see

You know you can always call, toll free

I want to know what happened between us two

It was fun until we ran out of things to do

Things to see, people to meet

Who are you without me

Who am I without you

I'm not sure either one of us is telling the truth

I'm not a sleuth and I won't become one for you

Do me a favor, fit the bill

What's the point of crying over spilled goodwill

Gold milk, gold milk

Hold up

You've been consistent, what a great life we've been living with nothing missing

Damn, this feels different

No gun shots every night but can you sleep without it

Accustomed to a life of streets and violence

Close your eyes, ease your mind while I lead the way

Get to showing you things that should be apart of your day

I know that there's really nothing that I could say to remove the pain when it's here and it tries to weigh

Down on you like a bilk, but you have strong will

This is not a drill, this shit right here is real

Fuck it, I think you just need some-

Gold milk, gold milk

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.