Poets logo

Gift Me a Mirage

The Arid Sky

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
18
Gift Me a Mirage
Photo by Martijn Baudoin on Unsplash

Think Arizona swelter 6am 90 degrees

Think cracked mud a billion suns

dust old as rocks, dust that forgets

how a river smooths.

Think burning breath evaporated sweat

think moisture deep below this crust

but

don’t think ahead even one second

brain dizzy eyes wobbling

where am I confusion

about to collapse ‘neath a wrath

you cannot fathom but feel.

              

Desert solitude.

Don’t think dry.

                       

It is the stay of hydration

sipped endless

a dozen water bottles camelbak salt sugar

sweat and piss a dream, no, nightmare.

Hydrated on the sun, an oven

try, “impossible” for

water has no master, finds

its lover in the arid sky.

This is your body, parchment of

this wrath you cannot fathom

but could feel before

dust became you.

                 

Note the truth under your stinking rubber sole:

sand tumbled from continents,

see

oceans creeks rivers rain smash the hardened earth

know this sand has forgotten bliss.

Each grain contains blue reflections of jeweled glints

Soft eddies, fish flying up the rapids

Waterfall quenching desert wanderings

drowning the over-eager, poisoning the over-

zealous.

             

So slip into oblivion.

This wrath denies you a mirage

Don’t think wet      

and dry heaves grant no reprieve.          

             

Dry bones

           dry bones

                      dry bones.

             

               

fact or fictionnature poetryhow to
18

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    Wait, did I actually miss this? This is one of my favourite poems from you, what masterful craft at display here! WOW. The clever line breaks, ambitious imagery that works, the rhythm, the musicality, the careful choice of words, the singular metaphor that the whole poem is? Wow, Mackenzie, hats off. Just picking out some lines that hit me like a truck and summarise what I've said above - "dust old as rocks, dust that forgets how a river smooths." "where am I confusion about to collapse ‘neath a wrath you cannot fathom but feel." "oceans creeks rivers rain smash the hardened earth" "know this sand has forgotten bliss" "Think burning breath evaporated sweat" and my favourite (I think, although it's so hard to choose): "Waterfall quenching desert wanderings drowning the over-eager, poisoning the over- zealous." STUNNING. I will come back to this again, for sure.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Wow, this was another tantalizing piece! I love the imagery and repetitive language that really drives home the message of loneliness in a world surrounded by people. My interprets the dry desert as a sea of humanity that the character wades through, looking for a morsel of moisture or a human with a like mind. Beautifully done Mackenzie!

  • Morgana Miller10 months ago

    This is so many thinnnngggsss, I'm spinning. You've employed the text formatting so tastefully and masterfully here—the bolding of "wrath" lines totally jars me out of the nature imagery and makes me go, "wait, what am I really reading about here?" It's so clever and I'm so curious.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    how did I miss this? you write so beautifully! So skillful at drawing us in! great work!

  • This was magnificent! It reminded me of Shakespeare's poem, Life's Brief Candle! So did an excellent job on this!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    ✍️💙✍️ Thank you, Mackenzie Davis! In this desert mirage, I found and felt fears forgotten of bones and death... but as I explored, the fears were swept away. In the words here, I found an oasis. ✍️💙✍️

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    This made me think of the whole concept that we return to dust when we’re gone, this was so good! 🖤

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    That's sizzling. Tripped me out for a second, thinking: I've been here before...yet something's different. I think that tops it off! I'm feeling it too...so hot.

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Aaah, I can't think Fahrenheits. 90°? It's getting too perpendicular! Jokes aside, it's too too lyrical, Mackenzie. I love "Even dry heave has no reprieve. Dry bones dry bones dry bones." Gives chills. Let me get dehydrated and observe, imbibe these wobbling hallucinations.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Catherine Dorian11 months ago

    "Water has no master, discovers / its lover in the arid sky. Your body now parched / as antiquity and dust becomes you." Beautiful. I love your writing.

  • Why'd you have to write this so well, Mackenzie? I'm always thirsty (a gallon of water on a slow day). This didn't help one bit, lol.

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This gave me a shudder! It's not my fear but it touched a spot in me. Beautifully conveyed. 👏😊💙👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.