Poets logo

Gallery of words

Falling for the artist

By Deb SimmondsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gallery of words
Photo by Francesco Ungaro on Unsplash

Creeping sleepily into the port

to the lucidity of you,

my ideal found new form

wrapped in the arms of the artist.

I feel dawn,

the heat of the day warms my cheek

while your impassioned hands

draw me on.

Sense and sensibility sheaf their weapons,

forging an unbreakable bond.

Satin skin becomes only a vessel.

Eyes no longer portals,

lips mere tools.

Finding the truth becomes easier

as my heart, mind and body fall apart.

Words falter in my mouth,

Sentiments remain the same

but fearful of the panic

which they may inflame in the mind of the artist,

free spirited and deep,

so for now I’ll not say the words

and only my own counsel I’ll keep.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.