Poets logo

Interrogation

Guilt, shame and confusion

By Deb SimmondsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Interrogation
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

I look at the ground,

at the sky,

at the back of my reddened eyelids.

Anywhere but in your eyes.

Your accusation hangs in the air like a sharpened sword between us,

each word jabs at my chest

trying to pierce the icy bubble around my heart.

My frosted protection is chipped away,

thawing and weakening.

My useless lump of muscle ricochets in an unnatural rhythm against my ribs.

The veins in my arms strain proud,

Although...pride is a laughable concept here.

Shame, Guilt, Confusion,

those three witches, the bitches, beat me from the inside.

I look at the ground,

at the sky,

at the grubby fingernail on my left hand.

Anywhere but in your eyes.

Even under duress I cannot confess.

Your words spike through and my bubble bursts,

the ice spreads and corrupts my spine.

I reaffirm my resolution,

to deny your interrogation.

But the prolonged attack against my conscience,

makes my mouth fight against my stubbornness

I can’t take it any longer

and utter the words I can never take back.

‘I ate your last Rolo!’

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Deb Simmonds

Creative writer. Women led stories. Crime, dark comedy, lesfic novels and short stories. Poems when the mood takes me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.