Poets logo

g h o s t

an acrostic challenge entry

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
35
Created with CanvaPro

deleted and dismissed, you've got me

isolated once more, distracted,

strung out like a junkie

trading tricks for one last score.

reality can't reach me,

all i hear is your cruel ghost

calling me a cheat, a fake, a liar,

tying me to the whipping post.

i beg for you to free me

only that's not in the cards,

no, instead i lie here broken, counting sheep and fucking stars.

sad poetry
35

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    Heather, I've said it before and I don't want to seem redundant, but MAN you can write!!

  • Just Daniel12 months ago

    Absolutely wonderful, beautifully written. Everything connects and the rhythm brings everything together.

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Amazing! Go HH!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Heather this is a great entry to the Dancing with Distraction Challenge, I love the direction you went with it! It feels dark and twisted and yet so relatable! You were able to create tension and intrigue with so few words, which I clung to "like a junkie" wanting more from you! You never cease to amaze with your talent! 😊

  • Good luck in the challenge - this one deserves to place, it hits hard! I like that the insights say "compelling" because that's exactly the word I use for this xx

  • Excellent words, extremely intense

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Moving and powerful as ever, my friend! The ending is just...wow! I love how you play into the multiple distractions of being hurt, and also trying to escape the hurt. Brilliantly done ❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    That was deep!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Should have known you would twist at the end!! It's a good one too!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dana's hit the nail on the head. May you always know tenderness, intimacy & love that's a whole lot closer to home.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Damn, that ending hits hard! Well done, Heather!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Awesome, Heather! So moving and sad and compelling. Love it 💕🙂

  • Testabout a year ago

    Those last two lines tho. Great.

  • At first I thought of impostor syndrome. But the counting sheeps and fucking stars made me think of insomnia and I saw that Aphotic has said that too. Regardless, I could really feel the desperation and devastation in your words! Fantastic work my fear friend!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    You fired that one out right at the end. Amazing stuff, Heather! So succinct - all the words working for you on this one! Like so many have said, that last line. It wraps it up and leaves me feeling achy! Great entry, dix mille

  • Poppy about a year ago

    This was beautiful but especially the ending. That last line left me breathless

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    This is marvellous. Blows me away. Sad and beautiful.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is very sad poem, It would be nice how she set herself free from this cruel toxic relationship

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    Ay caramba, how deep and haunting!!! Epic!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Wow! This is incredible, Heather. I didn't even realise that it was an acrostic at first, I was so drawn in.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Great entry Heather! You can feel the desperation and dissatisfaction the whole way through. 💖

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Damn, that's raw, especially those last two lines. Excellent work again, my friend.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    I feel like there are many ways to interpret this, but I’m getting insomnia. It really does feel like being tied to a whipping post with no release in sight. The last line hits it home. Another great acrostic.

  • Kim Loostromabout a year ago

    This is gorgeous, the last line is haunting! This is incredible!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.