Poets logo

In The Red

You and I started out so mighty

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
In The Red
Photo by Ed Leszczynskl on Unsplash

Each word you said always managed to hit the nail on the head

I think you and I are bound by invisible thread

It's wound around so tightly

That I can feel it round my neck

You and I started out so brightly

Then we ended up cold,

and in the red

I heard you say you love me,

and I swear I felt it in my chest

I think you know I love you too,

and that's why you got scared,

Now we just go about in silence,

and tell ourselves it's for the best

You and I together we're mighty

Yet it's me who is alone in this bed

heartbreaklove poems

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Cendrine Marrouat4 days ago

    This is beautiful!

Frankie MartinelliWritten by Frankie Martinelli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.