Poets logo

Fun Dip

Sugar or Sand

By Alyssa NicolePublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Fun Dip Nostalgia

A bright summer's day,

Let's take a trip to the beach.

Don't forget the Fun Dip,

It's never far out of reach.

Tear it open in a rush,

But don't let it slip.

We're in dangerous territory,

It's doomed if it leaves your grip.

Rainbows of sugar packed in a pouch,

Give the chalky hard candy a lick.

White meets swirls of color,

Sweetness stuck to a stick.

Teeth painted green,

Tongue stained blue.

Then the pouch takes a tumble,

And hysteria will ensue.

My eyes question the candy,

No longer in my hand.

Is it sugar?

Is it sand?

My tongue says sugary sweet,

My teeth say sandy grit.

I think that's the end of my treat,

It's time for me to quit.

For Fun
6

About the Creator

Alyssa Nicole

A toxicologist who secretly hopes to be a full-time author. One novel in progress with too many other ideas taking up space in my head until I get around to writing them. Some of those ideas end up here.

Instagram: @alyssa.n.mussowrites

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Mmmm, I can almost taste it. Loved your poem!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    I love fun dip, haven’t had it in a while.

  • Shelby Hagood about a month ago

    Sugar the sand, hahah!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.