Poets logo

Confiscated

Airport Security Snafu

By Alyssa NicolePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Confiscated
Photo by Icarus Chu on Unsplash

*Overheard phone conversation at the gate*

You'll never believe what happened,

Just a few minutes ago.

Walking through security,

I didn't expect a show.

Ahead of the crowd,

An early morning riser.

I strolled through without a care,

None the wiser.

I stood there patiently,

Waiting for my bag.

A TSA agent flagged me down,

An unexpected snag.

I thought it was a mistake,

Having packed so carefully.

Unzipping pockets,

Out came a toiletry.

My bottle of hair gel,

Confiscated!

My can of shaving cream,

Confiscated!

My things simply discarded,

How dare they have the audacity.

I reclaimed my bag in defeat,

My luggage at reduced capacity.

*Dialing another phone number several minutes later*

Hey, you'll never believe what happened...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Written for the eavesdropping challenge by sleepy drafts! Check it out below!

humorFor Fun

About the Creator

Alyssa Nicole

A toxicologist who secretly hopes to be a full-time author. One novel in progress with too many other ideas taking up space in my head until I get around to writing them. Some of those ideas end up here.

Instagram: @alyssa.n.mussowrites

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    So like me, forgetting that a Swiss army knife is simply considered a tool when entering a concert venue in the city. Lost two of them that way. It's either take it back to the car & go to the back of the line or..., confiscated!

  • Good job! I subscribe to you and I look forward to reading more of your work.

  • Hahahahahahaha this made me chuckle! Loved your entry to this challenge!

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    OK, this was * so * awesome!!! Oh, I laughed at the end - this is fantastic. Amazing eavesdropping skills. Thank you so much for sharing!! Also, I just had to Google 'snafu' - I had no idea that was an acronym, either!! That gave me a chuckle right off the bat. Wonderfully done, Alyssa! Thank you * so * much for writing and sharing this. This was a delight! 💗

Alyssa NicoleWritten by Alyssa Nicole

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.